Chapters

With 122 chapters worldwide, 47 student branch chapters and 18 student clubs, EMBS has a wide variety of chapters and networking opportunities for its members. Chapters provide local activities such as workshops, tutorials, and speaker talks for members who may not have the opportunity to attend other worldwide EMB activities.

Chapters are broken out into the following Geographic Areas:

  • Asia-Pacific
  • Europe
  • Middle East / Africa
  • Latin America
  • North America (including Canada)

Chapter Funding Requirements

**PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL REQUESTS ARE NOW BEING REVIEWED BY THE EMBS MEMBER AND STUDENTS COMMITTEE FOR APPROVAL, PLEASE ALLOW TIME TO PROCESS**

EMBS funding is available only to EMBS Chapters, EMBS Student Branch Chapters and EMBS Student Clubs. Matching funds of up to $500 for clubs and up to $1000 for chapters are available to those Chapters/Clubs interested in hosting an event. The matching ratio is 2:1, with EMBS providing up to twice the amount raised from some other source. A limited amount of funding is available, so please get your requests in early.

If EMBS funding is sought to support Chapter or Section for a particular meeting, matching funds should be requested in advance. This way, the EMBS Executive Office is aware of the event, they can confirm the funds are available and can promote it accordingly. The following procedure should occur:

The hosting chapter or section should first write to the EMBS Executive Office with a request for funding, when submitting request, please provide the following information:

  • Description of the activity for which funding is required
  • Statement of objectives
  • A Program detailing the event
  • A letter with supporting documents indicating the amount of money raised from other sources
  • Fill out the Chapter Activity Funding Request Form


Chapter Information

EMBS Chapter Map


Argentina Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1992-08-06
Buenos Aires Argentina
Leandro Cymberknop, Chapter Chair (ljcymber@ieee.org)
Natalia Lopez, Chapter Secretary (nlopez@gateme.unsj.edu.ar)
Sergio Ponce, Chapter Treasurer (sponce@rec.utn.edu.ar)
Virginia Ballarin, Chapter Vice Chair (vballari@gmail.com)

Atlanta Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-31
Atlanta GA USA
Philip Fitzsimons, Chapter Secretary (fitzsimo@mindspring.com)
Jacqueline Fairley, Chapter Treasurer (jacquelineann@gatech.edu)
Adriane Swalm Durey, Chapter Vice Chair (adriane@emperorlinux.com)

Bangladesh Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2015-07-29
Dhaka Bangladesh
Shaikh Fattah, Chapter Chair (s.a.fattah@ieee.org)
Shajib Ghosh, Chapter Secretary (shajibghosh94@gmail.com)
Shahin Akhter, Chapter Treasurer (koly880@yahoo.com)
Celia Shahnaz, Chapter Vice Chair (celia.shahnaz@gmail.com)

Benelux Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2005-09-16
Haaksbergen Netherlands
Massimo Mischi, Chapter Chair (m.mischi@tue.nl)
Borbala Hunyadi, Chapter Secretary (borbala.hunyadi@esat.kuleuven.be)
Sabine Van Huffel, Chapter Treasurer (sabine.vanhuffel@esat.kuleuven.be)

Buenaventura Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2004-05-18
Los Angeles CA USA
Robert Rumer, Chapter Chair (bobrumer@verizon.net)
Reza Firoozabadi, Chapter Secretary (reza.firoozabadi@philips.com)
Celene Udasco, Chapter Treasurer (ceudasco@gmail.com)

Central Indiana Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1989-12-08
Indianapolis IN USA
Helen McNally, Chapter Chair (mcnallyh@purdue.edu)

Central Texas Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1994-01-01
San Antonio TX USA
Jennie Burns, Chapter Secretary (jennie.burns@gdit.com)
Heena Rathore, Chapter Vice Chair

Chile Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-29
Valparaiso Chile
Esteban Pino, Chapter Chair (epino@ieee.org)
Esteban Pino, Chapter Chair (epino@ieee.org)
Esteban Pino, Chapter Chair (epino@ieee.org)
Pablo Roncagliolo, Chapter Secretary (pablo.roncagliolo@uv.cl)
Pablo Roncagliolo, Chapter Secretary (pablo.roncagliolo@uv.cl)
Pablo Roncagliolo, Chapter Secretary (pablo.roncagliolo@uv.cl)

Coastal Los Angeles Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1954-11-19
Long Beach CA USA
C Druzgalski, Chapter Chair (druz@ieee.org)
Panadda Marayong, Chapter Treasurer (panadda.marayong@csulb.edu)

Colombia Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2005-03-25
Bogota Colombia
Lizeth Vega Medina, Chapter Chair (lizvega@ieee.org)
Byron Perez, Chapter Secretary (byron.perez@ieee.org)
John Munoz Montenegro, Chapter Vice Chair (john.munoz@ieee.org)

Croatia Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-24
Zagreb Croatia
Magdalena Krbot Skoric, Chapter Chair (magdalena.krbot@kbc-zagreb.hr)
Zeljka Lucev Vasic, Chapter Vice Chair (zeljka.lucev.vasic@fer.hr)

Czechoslovakia Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-08-14
Praha 6 Czech Republic
Michal Cifra, Chapter Chair (cifra@ufe.cz)
Michal Cifra, Chapter Secretary (cifra@ufe.cz)
David Vrba, Chapter Secretary (david.vrba@fbmi.cvut.cz)
Elena Cocherova, Chapter Vice Chair (elena.cocherova@stuba.sk)

Dallas Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-25
Plano TX USA
Dinesh Bhatia, Chapter Chair (dinesh@utdallas.edu)

Denver Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1964-06-17
Golden CO USA
James Harrer, Chapter Chair (jharrer@ieee.org)
James Harrer, Chapter Treasurer (jharrer@ieee.org)

Ecuador Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2011-05-19
Urcuqui Imbabura Ecuador
Jorge Uquillas, Chapter Chair (jorgealfredo.uquillas@gmail.com)

Egypt Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2006-10-17
Cairo Egypt
AHMED MORSY, Chapter Chair (amorsy@ieee.org)

Florida West Coast Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2007-01-31
Clearwater FL USA
Sylvia Thomas, Chapter Chair (sylvia@usf.edu)
John West, Chapter Treasurer

France Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2004-10-29
Brest cedex 3 France
Hamid Kokabi, Chapter Chair (hamid.kokabi@upmc.fr)
Noury Norbert, Chapter Vice Chair (norbert.noury@insa-lyon.fr)
Stephane Binczak, Chapter Vice Chair (stbinc@u-bourgogne.fr)
Noury Norbert, Chapter Vice Chair (norbert.noury@insa-lyon.fr)
Serge Dos Santos, Secretary/Treasurer (serge.dossantos@univ-tours.fr)

Greece Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-26
Ioannina Greece
Dimitrios Fotiadis, Chapter Chair (fotiadis@cc.uoi.gr)

Houston Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 1958-06-26
Houston TX USA
Jose Luis Contreras, Chapter Chair (jlcontreras-vidal@uh.edu)

Italy Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-26
Milano Italy
Sergio Cerutti, Chapter Chair (sergio.cerutti@polimi.it)

Kansas City Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-25
Stilwell KS USA
Sashi Saripalle, Chapter Chair (sashikanth.s@gmail.com)
Spandana Vemulapalli, Chapter Vice Chair (v.spandana1992@gmail.com)

Kerala Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2014-07-01
Kumarapuram Trivandrum India
Koruthu Varughese, Chapter Chair (kpv194@gmail.com)
Vivek George, Chapter Secretary (vivek.v.george@ieee.org)

Kharagpur Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2015-02-01
Kharagpur West Bengal India
Sudip Nag, Chapter Chair (sudipnag1@gmail.com)

Kitchener-Waterloo Section Chap,EMB18
Formed: 2006-02-09
Waterloo ON Canada
Shahed Shahir, Chapter Chair (sshahir@ieee.org)

Lebanon Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2014-08-18
Tripoli Lebanon
Mohamad Khalil, Chapter Chair (mohamad.khalil@ul.edu.lb)
Mohamad Hajj-Hassan, Chapter Secretary (mohamad.hajjhassan@liu.edu.lb)
Omar Falou, Chapter Treasurer (ofalou@gmail.com)
Mohammad Ayache, Chapter Vice Chair (mohammad.ayache@iul.edu.lb)

London Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2010-05-08
London ON Canada
Terence Peters, Chapter Chair (tpeters@robarts.ca)

Madison Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2006-11-15
Verona WI USA
Dennis Bahr, Chapter Chair (bahr@inxpress.net)

Madras Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-29
Pollachi Tamilnadu India
B K B Jayanthi, Chapter Chair (jayanthikb@yahoo.com)
Banu Rekha B, Chapter Secretary (banurekha.cbe@gmail.com)

Memphis Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1960-10-04
Bartlett TN USA
Bashir Morshed, Chapter Chair (bmorshed@memphis.edu)

Milwaukee Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1961-12-12
Dousman WI USA
Jeffrey LaMack, Chapter Chair (lamack@msoe.edu)

Montreal Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1956-04-10
Les Coteaux QC Canada
Milica Popovic, Chapter Chair (milica.popovich@mcgill.ca)

New Orleans Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1990-11-07
New Orleans LA USA
Carolyn Bayer, Chapter Chair (carolynb@tulane.edu)

New South Wales Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-29
Sydney NSW Australia
Stefan Mozar, Chapter Chair (s.mozar@ieee.org)

New Zealand North Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-08-09
Auckland New Zealand
Hamid Gholam-Hosseini, Chapter Chair (hgholamh@aut.ac.nz)

Orange County Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-06-24
Irvine CA USA
John Collins, Chapter Chair (collins@ieee.org)
Mathew Paul, Chapter Secretary (paulmathew111@gmail.com)
Mathew Paul, Chapter Treasurer (paulmathew111@gmail.com)
Gora Datta, Chapter Vice Chair (goradatta@ieee.org)

Ottawa Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1993-04-14
Kanata ON Canada
Sreeraman Rajan, Chapter Chair (sreeraman@ieee.org)
Yuu Ono, Chapter Secretary (yuuono@sce.carleton.ca)
Andrew Law, Chapter Treasurer (andrew.law@nrc.ca)
Adrian Chan, Webmaster (adcchan@sce.carleton.ca)

Panama Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2009-09-23
Panama Panama Panama
OLGA ROMERO, Chapter Chair (olgaromero@hotmail.com)
Marion Serrano, Chapter Secretary (mserranozelaya@yahoo.com)
Doriana Dorta, Chapter Treasurer (dorianady@gmail.com)
Jhonathan Guerra Jaen, Chapter Vice Chair (jguerrajaen@yahoo.es)

Peru Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2009-10-21
Lima Lima Peru
Sandra Perez Buitrago, Chapter Chair (sm.perez@pucp.edu.pe)
Benjamin Castaneda, Chapter Secretary (castaneda.b@pucp.edu.pe)
Julio Valdivia Silva, Chapter Treasurer (jvaldivias@utec.edu.pe)
Fanny Casado-Pena, Chapter Vice Chair (fanny.casado@pucp.edu.pe)

Poland Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-27
Gliwice Poland
Ewaryst Tkacz, Chapter Chair (etkacz@polsl.pl)
Pawel Strumillo, Chapter Vice Chair

Portugal Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2006-12-05
Lisbon Portugal
Miguel Coimbra, Chapter Chair (mcoimbra@dcc.fc.up.pt)
Hugo Placido da Silva, Chapter Secretary (hugoslv@gmail.com)
Carlos Nunes Ferreira, Chapter Treasurer (fer.carlosan@gmail.com)
Joao Sanches, Chapter Vice Chair (jmrs@ist.utl.pt)

Puebla Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2016-03-02
Puebla PUE Mexico
Jose Vazquez-Gonzalez, Chapter Chair
Juan Horacio Espinoza Rodriguez, Chapter Vice Chair (juan.espinoza@udlap.mx)

Queensland Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2008-07-24
Herson QLD Australia
Qing Zhang, Chapter Chair (qing.zhang@csiro.au)
Vanessa Smallbon, Chapter Secretary
Mohanraj Karunanithi, Chapter Vice Chair (mohan.karunanithi@csiro.au)

Romania Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2007-03-12
Bucharest, 010828 Romania
Alexandru Morega, Chapter Chair (amm@iem.pub.ro)
Georgeta-Mihaela Neagu, Chapter Secretary (mickyungureanu@yahoo.de)

Russia-Siberia Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-26
Novosibirsk Siberia Russia
Vladimir Makukha, Chapter Chair (makukha@online.nsk.su)

Sacramento Valley Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-06-24
Sacramento CA USA
Warren Smith, Chapter Chair (smithwd@csus.edu)

San Francisco Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-06-24
San Francisco CA USA
Xiaorong Zhang, Chapter Chair (xrzhang@sfsu.edu)
Alexandre Coimbra, Chapter Secretary (coimbra.alexandre@gene.com)
Alexandre Matov, Chapter Treasurer (matov@ieee.org)
Charles Koch, Chapter Vice Chair

Seattle Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1973-02-12
Seattle WA USA
Matthew Hedlund, Chapter Chair (matthedlund@ieee.org)

Shanghai Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2012-11-30
Shanghai Shanghai China
Shanbao Tong, Chapter Chair (shanbao.tong@gmail.com)
Yao Li, Chapter Secretary (yaoli118@gmail.com)

Singapore Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2004-08-25
Singapore Singapore
Liang Zhong, Chapter Chair (zhong.liang@nhcs.com.sg)
Nan Liu, Chapter Secretary (nanliu.paper@hotmail.com)
Rosa So, Chapter Treasurer (rosa-so@i2r.a-star.edu.sg)
Theng Wan Kenneth Cheong, Chapter Vice Chair (cheongtwk@gmail.com)

South Africa Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2016-02-01
Stellenbosch Western Cape South Africa
Martin Nieuwoudt, Chapter Chair (martin.nieuwoudt@gmail.com)
Tinashe Mutsvangwa, Chapter Secretary (tinashe@gmail.com)
Frances Robertson, Chapter Treasurer (frances.robertson@uct.ac.za)
Dawie van den Heever, Chapter Vice Chair (dawie@sun.ac.za)
Wanga Mbasa, Representative (w.mbasa@tuks.co.za)

Southern Alberta Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1991-06-19
Calgary AB Canada
Lawrence Whitby, Chapter Chair (lwhitby@ieee.org)

Southern Minnesota Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2007-01-27
Rochester MN USA
David Holmes, Chapter Chair (holmesd3@yahoo.com)

Sweden Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-27
Lund Sweden
Fernando Seoane Martinez, Chapter Chair (fseoane@gmail.com)
Kaj Lindecrantz, Chapter Vice Chair (kaj.lindecrantz@bitcom.se)

Switzerland Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2008-09-26
Biel/Bienne Switzerland
Thomas Niederhauser, Chapter Chair (thomas.niederhauser@bfh.ch)
Walter Karlen, Chapter Vice Chair (walter.karlen@ieee.org)

Tainan Section Chap,EMB18
Formed: 2006-10-17
Tainan Taiwan
Kuo-Sheng Cheng, Chapter Chair
Yen-Ting Chen, Chapter Secretary (ytchen@stust.edu.tw)
Shyh-Hau Wang, Chapter Vice Chair (shyhhau@mail.ncku.edu.tw)

Thailand Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2010-01-22
Bangkok Thailand
Supaporn Kiattisin, Chapter Chair (tom_kiattisin@hotmail.com)
Adisorn Leelasantitham, Chapter Secretary (ladisorn@hotmail.com)
Wibool Piyawattanametha, Chapter Vice Chair (wibool@gmail.com)
KHANITA DUANGCHAEMKARN, Representative (kkhanita@hotmail.com)
Supan Tungjitkusolmun, Representative (ktsupan@gmail.com)

Toronto Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2006-07-20
Toronto ON Canada
Benjamin Mak, Chapter Chair (bmak@ieee.org)
Filip Boskovic, Chapter Vice Chair (filip.boskovic@gmail.com)

Tunisia Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 2009-08-03
Sfax Tunisia
Yassine Aribi, Chapter Chair (yassine.aribi.tn@ieee.org)
Mounir Ben Ayed, Chapter Vice Chair (mounir.benayed@ieee.org)

Turkey Section Chapter,EMB18
Formed: 2005-06-15
Isparta Turkey
Aydin Akan, Chapter Chair (aydinakan@gmail.com)

Ukraine Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed:
Kyiv Ukraine
Sergey Krivenko, Chapter Chair (krivenkoz@ukr.net)
Kateryna Ivanko, Chapter Vice Chair (koondoo@gmail.com)

Vancouver Section Chap,EMB18
Formed: 2004-07-16
Vancouver BC Canada
Robert Rohling, Chapter Chair (rohling@ece.ubc.ca)

Victorian Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1998-05-28
Clayton VIC Australia
Paul Junor, Chapter Chair (p.junor@latrobe.edu.au)
Mehrnaz Shoushtarian, Chapter Chair (mehrnaz.shoushtarian@gmail.com)
Paul Junor, Chapter Vice Chair (p.junor@latrobe.edu.au)

Winnipeg Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1981-04-09
Winnipeg MB Canada
SHERIF SHERIF, Chapter Vice Chair

Centro-Norte Section Jt Chapter, ED15/MTT17/EMB18
Formed: 2007-03-13
Brasilia Distrito Federal Brazil
Antonio Bo, Chapter Chair (antonio.plb@lara.unb.br)
J Michael Golio, SAMIEEE RECIPIENT (m.golio@ieee.org)

Cyprus Section Jt. Chapter, EMB18/SP01
Formed: 2009-04-22
Paphos Cyprus
Efthyvoulos Kyriacou, Chapter Chair (e.kyriacou@frederick.ac.cy)
Andreas Panayides, Chapter Chair (panayides@cs.ucy.ac.cy)

Dayton Section Jt Chapter,SP01/EMB18/SMC28
Formed: 1997-01-01
New London CT USA
Holly Zelnio, Chapter Chair (hollay@gmail.com)
Phillip Corbell, Chapter Vice Chair (phillip.m.corbell@gmail.com)

Delhi Section Chapter,IM09/EMB18
Formed: 2005-05-27
New Delhi India
V R Singh, Chapter Chair (vrsingh@ieee.org)
Jitendra Behari, Chapter Treasurer (jbehari@hotmail.com)

Estonia Section Jt Chapter, IM09/ED15/EMB18
Formed: 2007-04-24
Tallinn Estonia
Jaan Hiie, Chapter Chair (jaan.hiie@taltech.ee)
Toomas Parve, Chapter Vice Chair (parveto@gmail.com)

Germany/Austria/Switzerland, EMB18
Formed: 1991-03-21
Berlin Germany
Thomas Penzel, Chapter Chair
Professor Reinhold Orglmeister, Chapter Treasurer (reinhold.orglmeister@tu-berlin.de)

Hungary Section Jt. Chapter, IM09/EMB18
Formed: 1997-08-15
Budapest Hungary
Laszlo Sujbert, Chapter Chair (sujbert@mit.bme.hu)

Kingston Section Jt. Chapter, CS23/EMB18/RA24
Formed: 2008-05-29
Kingston ON Canada
Keyvan HashtrudiZaad, Chapter Chair (khz@queensu.ca)

Morelos/Mexico Section Chapter, EMB18
Formed: 1992-03-24
Mexico Mexico
R Leder, Chapter Chair (rleder@ieee.org)

New Brunswick Section Jt. Chapter, SP01/EMB18
Formed: 2016-04-06
Fredericton NB Canada
Erik Scheme, Chapter Chair (escheme@unb.ca)

Quebec Section Jt. Chapter, EMB18/CAS04
Formed: 2014-05-27
Quebec QC Canada
Benoit Gosselin, Chapter Chair (benoit.gosselin@gel.ulaval.ca)
Benoit Gosselin, Chapter Chair (benoit.gosselin@gel.ulaval.ca)
Guillaume Bilodeau, Chapter Secretary (guillaume.bilodeau.3@ulaval.ca)
Guillaume Bilodeau, Chapter Secretary (guillaume.bilodeau.3@ulaval.ca)
Gabriel Gagnon-Turcotte, Chapter Treasurer (gabriel.gagnon-turcotte.1@ulaval.ca)
Gabriel Gagnon-Turcotte, Chapter Treasurer (gabriel.gagnon-turcotte.1@ulaval.ca)
Eric Bharucha, Chapter Vice Chair (ericbha@videotron.ca)
Eric Bharucha, Chapter Vice Chair (ericbha@videotron.ca)

Republic Of Macedonia Section Chap,SP01/EMB18
Formed: 2005-05-27
Skopje Macedonia
Tomislav Kartalov, Chapter Chair

Richmond Section Jt. Chapter, MAG33/EMB18
Formed: 2016-02-29
Richmond VA USA
radhika barua, Chapter Chair (radhika.barua@gmail.com)
Magundappa Hadimani, Chapter Secretary (rhadimani@vcu.edu)
Dustin Clifford, Chapter Treasurer (dustinm.clifford@gmail.com)
Dianne Pawluk, Chapter Vice Chair (dtpawluk@vcu.edu)

Saint Louis Section Chapter, EMB18/MTT17/PHO36
Formed:
Saint Louis MO USA
Satya Mishra, Chapter Chair (satya@grokcircuits.com)
Dennis Barbour, Chapter Treasurer

South Brazil Section Jt. Chapter,EMB18/CS23
Formed: 1989-03-15
Florianopolis Brazil
Renato Garcia, Chapter Chair (renato.garcia@ieee.org)

Uruguay Section Chapter,EMB18/CS23/SSC37
Formed: 2005-05-26
Montevideo Uruguay
Enrique Ferreira, Chapter Chair (e.d.ferreira@ieee.org)
Enrique Ferreira, Chapter Treasurer (e.d.ferreira@ieee.org)

Login

New Here? Sign Up

Looking for increased exposure in the field of biomedical engineering? EMBS offers journals, conferences and a community for biomedical engineers. Membership includes PULSE Magazine.

Join EMBS