Chapters

With 122 chapters worldwide, 47 student branch chapters and 18 student clubs, EMBS has a wide variety of chapters and networking opportunities for its members. Chapters provide local activities such as workshops, tutorials, and speaker talks for members who may not have the opportunity to attend other worldwide EMB activities.

Chapters are broken out into the following Geographic Areas:

  • Asia-Pacific
  • Europe
  • Middle East / Africa
  • Latin America
  • North America (including Canada)

Chapter Funding Requirements

**PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL REQUESTS ARE NOW BEING REVIEWED BY THE EMBS MEMBER AND STUDENTS COMMITTEE FOR APPROVAL, PLEASE ALLOW TIME TO PROCESS**

EMBS funding is available only to EMBS Chapters, EMBS Student Branch Chapters and EMBS Student Clubs. Matching funds of up to $500 for clubs and up to $1000 for chapters are available to those Chapters/Clubs interested in hosting an event. The matching ratio is 2:1, with EMBS providing up to twice the amount raised from some other source. A limited amount of funding is available, so please get your requests in early.

If EMBS funding is sought to support Chapter or Section for a particular meeting, matching funds should be requested in advance. This way, the EMBS Executive Office is aware of the event, they can confirm the funds are available and can promote it accordingly. The following procedure should occur:

The hosting chapter or section should first write to the EMBS Executive Office with a request for funding, when submitting request, please provide the following information:

  • Description of the activity for which funding is required
  • Statement of objectives
  • A Program detailing the event
  • A letter with supporting documents indicating the amount of money raised from other sources
  • Fill out the Chapter Activity Funding Request Form


Chapter Information

EMBS Chapter Map

Argentina Section Chapter, EMB18
Leandro Cymberknop, chair (ljcymber@gmail.com)
Formed: 1992-08-06
Buenos Aires Argentina

Atlanta Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 2006-07-31
Atlanta GA USA

Bangladesh Section Chapter, EMB18
Shaikh Fattah, chair (fattah@eee.buet.ac.bd)
Formed: 2015-07-29
Dhaka Bangladesh

Beijing Section Chapter, EMB18
Jie Tian, chair (tian@ieee.org)
Formed: 2006-07-29
Beijing China

Benelux Section Chapter,EMB18
Bart Vanrumste, chair (bart.vanrumste@esat.kuleuven.be)
Formed: 2005-09-16
Haaksbergen Netherlands

Buenaventura Section Chapter,EMB18
Robert Rumer, chair (bobrumer@verizon.net)
Formed: 2004-05-18
Los Angeles CA USA

Central Indiana Section Chapter, EMB18
Helen McNally, chair (mcnallyh@purdue.edu)
Formed: 1989-12-08
Indianapolis IN USA

Central Tennessee Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 2006-07-28
Nashville TN USA

Central Texas Section Chapter, EMB18
ehsaneh shahhaidar, chair (e.shahhaidar@gmail.com)
Formed: 1994-01-01
San Antonio TX USA

Centro Occidente Section Chapter,EMB18
Rodolfo Gonzalez, chair (rodogon21@yahoo.com)
Formed: 2006-12-05
Michoacan MICH Mexico

Chile Section Chapter, EMB18
Esteban Pino, chair (epino@ieee.org)
Formed: 2006-07-29
Valparaiso Chile

Chile Section Chapter, EMB18
Esteban Pino, chair (epino@ieee.org)
Formed: 2006-07-29
Valparaiso Chile

Chile Section Chapter, EMB18
Esteban Pino, chair (epino@ieee.org)
Formed: 2006-07-29
Valparaiso Chile

Coastal Los Angeles Section Chapter, EMB18
C Druzgalski, chair (druz@ieee.org)
Formed: 1954-11-19
Long Beach CA USA

Colombia Section Chapter,EMB18
John Munoz Montenegro, chair (john.munoz@ieee.org)
Formed: 2005-03-25
Bogota Colombia

Costa Rica Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 2010-12-13
San Jose San Pedro de Montes de Oca Costa Rica

Croatia Section Chapter, EMB18
Magdalena Krbot Skoric, chair (magdalena.krbot@kbc-zagreb.hr)
Formed: 2006-07-24
Zagreb Croatia

Czechoslovakia Section Chapter, EMB18
Michal Cifra, chair (cifra@ufe.cz)
Formed: 2006-08-14
Praha 6 Czech Republic

Czechoslovakia Section Chapter, EMB18
Elena Cocherova, chair (elena.cocherova@stuba.sk)
Formed: 2006-08-14
Praha 6 Czech Republic

Dallas Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 2006-07-25
Plano TX USA

Denver Section Chapter, EMB18
James Harrer, chair (jharrer@ieee.org)
Formed: 1964-06-17
Golden CO USA

Ecuador Section Chapter, EMB18
Monica Huerta, chair (monica.huerta@gmail.com)
Formed: 2011-05-19
Urcuqui Imbabura Ecuador

Egypt Section Chapter,EMB18
AHMED MORSY, chair (amorsy@ieee.org)
Formed: 2006-10-17
Cairo Egypt

Florida West Coast Section Chapter,EMB18
Sylvia Thomas, chair (sylvia@usf.edu)
Formed: 2007-01-31
Clearwater FL USA

France Section Chapter,EMB18
Noury Norbert, chair (norbert.noury@insa-lyon.fr)
Formed: 2004-10-29
Brest cedex 3 France

Greece Section Chapter, EMB18
Dimitrios Fotiadis, chair (fotiadis@cc.uoi.gr)
Formed: 2006-07-26
Ioannina Greece

Houston Section Chapter,EMB18
Jose Luis Contreras, chair (jlcontreras-vidal@uh.edu)
Formed: 1958-06-26
Houston TX USA

Israel Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 1996-07-12
Tel Aviv Israel Israel

Italy Section Chapter, EMB18
Sergio Cerutti, chair (sergio.cerutti@polimi.it)
Formed: 2006-07-26
Milano Italy

Kansas City Section Chapter, EMB18
Vikas Gottemukkula, chair (vgq57@mail.umkc.edu)
Formed: 2006-07-25
Stilwell KS USA

Kerala Section Chapter, EMB18
Koruthu Varughese, chair (kpv194@gmail.com)
Formed: 2014-07-01
Kumarapuram Trivandrum India

Kharagpur Section Chapter, EMB18
Manjunatha Mahadevappa, chair (mmaha2@smst.iitkgp.ac.in)
Formed: 2015-02-01
Kharagpur West Bengal India

Kitchener-Waterloo Section Chap,EMB18
Shahed Shahir, chair (sshahir@ieee.org)
Formed: 2006-02-09
Waterloo ON Canada

Lebanon Section Chapter, EMB18
Mohamad Khalil, chair (mohamad.khalil@ul.edu.lb)
Formed: 2014-08-18
Tripoli Lebanon

London Section Chapter, EMB18
Terence Peters, chair (tpeters@robarts.ca)
Formed: 2010-05-08
London ON Canada

Madison Section Chapter,EMB18
Dennis Bahr, chair (bahr@inxpress.net)
Formed: 2006-11-15
Verona WI USA

Madras Section Chapter, EMB18
B K B Jayanthi, chair (jayanthikb@yahoo.com)
Formed: 2006-07-29
Pollachi Tamilnadu India

Memphis Section Chapter, EMB18
Bashir Morshed, chair (bmorshed@memphis.edu)
Formed: 1960-10-04
Bartlett TN USA

Miami Section Chapter, EMB18
Chenzhong Li, chair (licz@fiu.edu)
Formed: 1968-02-13
Miami FL USA

Milwaukee Section Chapter, EMB18
Jeffrey LaMack, chair (lamack@msoe.edu)
Formed: 1961-12-12
Dousman WI USA

Montreal Section Chapter, EMB18
Milica Popovic, chair (milica.popovich@mcgill.ca)
Formed: 1956-04-10
Les Coteaux QC Canada

New Orleans Section Chapter, EMB18
Carolyn Bayer, chair (carolynb@tulane.edu)
Formed: 1990-11-07
New Orleans LA USA

New South Wales Section Chapter, EMB18
Stefan Mozar, chair (s.mozar@ieee.org)
Formed: 2006-07-29
Sydney NSW Australia

New Zealand North Section Chapter, EMB18
Hamid Gholam-Hosseini, chair (hgholamh@aut.ac.nz)
Formed: 2006-08-09
Auckland New Zealand

Orange County Section Chapter, EMB18
John Collins, chair (collins@ieee.org)
Formed: 2006-06-24
Irvine CA USA

Ottawa Section Chapter, EMB18
Sreeraman Rajan, chair (sreeraman@ieee.org)
Formed: 1993-04-14
Kanata ON Canada

Panama Section Chapter, EMB18
Ernesto Ibarra, chair (ernesto2789@hotmail.com)
Formed: 2009-09-23
Panama Panama Panama

Peru Section Chapter, EMB18
Jorge Mirez Tarrillo, chair (jorgemirez2002@gmail.com)
Formed: 2009-10-21
Lima Lima Peru

Poland Section Chapter, EMB18
Ewaryst Tkacz, chair (etkacz@polsl.pl)
Formed: 2006-07-27
Gliwice Poland

Portugal Section Chapter,EMB18
Miguel Coimbra, chair (mcoimbra@dcc.fc.up.pt)
Formed: 2006-12-05
Lisbon Portugal

Puebla Section Chapter, EMB18
Jose Diaz Mendez, chair (aldim07@gmail.com)
Formed: 2016-03-02
Puebla PUE Mexico

Queensland Section Chapter, EMB18
Qing Zhang, chair (qing.zhang@csiro.au)
Formed: 2008-07-24
Herson QLD Australia

Romania Section Chapter, EMB18
Alexandru Morega, chair (amm@iem.pub.ro)
Formed: 2007-03-12
Bucharest, 010828 Romania

Russia-Siberia Section Chapter, EMB18
Vladimir Makukha, chair (makukha@online.nsk.su)
Formed: 2006-07-26
Novosibirsk Siberia Russia

Sacramento Valley Section Chapter, EMB18
Warren Smith, chair (smithwd@csus.edu)
Formed: 2006-06-24
Sacramento CA USA

San Fernando Valley Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 2006-01-06
Northridge CA USA

San Francisco Section Chapter, EMB18
Xiaorong Zhang, chair (xrzhang@sfsu.edu)
Formed: 2006-06-24
San Francisco CA USA

Santa Clara Valley Section Chapter, EMB18
Lee Carmack, chair (lee.carmack@sbcglobal.net)
Formed: 1975-03-25
San Jose CA USA

Seattle Section Chapter, EMB18
Matthew Hedlund, chair (matthedlund@ieee.org)
Formed: 1973-02-12
Seattle WA USA

Shanghai Section Chapter, EMB18
Shanbao Tong, chair (shanbao.tong@gmail.com)
Formed: 2012-11-30
Shanghai Shanghai China

Singapore Section Chapter,EMB18
Liang Zhong, chair (zhong.liang@nhcs.com.sg)
Formed: 2004-08-25
Singapore Singapore

South Africa Section Chapter, EMB18
Tinashe Mutsvangwa, chair (tinashe@gmail.com)
Formed: 2016-02-01
Stellenbosch Western Cape South Africa

Southern Alberta Section Chapter, EMB18
Lawrence Whitby, chair (lwhitby@ieee.org)
Formed: 1991-06-19
Calgary AB Canada

Southern Minnesota Section Chapter, EMB18
David Holmes, chair (holmesd3@yahoo.com)
Formed: 2007-01-27
Rochester MN USA

Sweden Section Chapter, EMB18
Fernando Seoane Martinez, chair (fseoane@gmail.com)
Formed: 2006-07-27
Lund Sweden

Switzerland Section Chapter, EMB18
Volker Koch, chair (vomako@me.com)
Formed: 2008-09-26
Biel/Bienne Switzerland

Tainan Section Chap,EMB18
Kuo-Sheng Cheng, chair (kscheng@mail.ncku.edu.tw)
Formed: 2006-10-17
Tainan Taiwan

Taipei Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 2006-07-29
Taipei Taiwan

Thailand Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 2010-01-22
Bangkok Thailand

Toronto Section Chapter, EMB18
Benjamin Mak, chair (bmak@ieee.org)
Formed: 2006-07-20
Toronto ON Canada

Tunisia Section Chapter, EMB18
Yassine Aribi, chair (yassine.aribi.tn@ieee.org)
Formed: 2009-08-03
Sfax Tunisia

Turkey Section Chapter,EMB18
Aydin Akan, chair (aydinakan@gmail.com)
Formed: 2005-06-15
Isparta Turkey

Twin Cities Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 1961-04-27
Blaine MN USA

Ukraine Section Chapter, EMB18
no chair registered
Formed:
Kyiv Ukraine

Vancouver Section Chap,EMB18
no chair registered
Formed: 2004-07-16
Vancouver BC Canada

Victorian Section Chapter, EMB18
Mehrnaz Shoushtarian, chair (mehrnaz.shoushtarian@gmail.com)
Formed: 1998-05-28
Clayton VIC Australia

Winnipeg Section Chapter, EMB18
Sergio Camorlinga, chair (s.camorlinga@uwinnipeg.ca)
Formed: 1981-04-09
Winnipeg MB Canada

Central Coast Section Chapter,EMB18/CS23
no chair registered
Formed: 2006-02-11
Santa Barbara CA USA

Centro-Norte Section Jt Chapter, ED15/MTT17/EMB18
Antonio Bo, chair (antonio.plb@lara.unb.br)
Formed: 2007-03-13
Brasilia Distrito Federal Brazil

Cyprus Section Jt. Chapter, EMB18/SP01
Efthyvoulos Kyriacou, chair (e.kyriacou@frederick.ac.cy)
Formed: 2009-04-22
Paphos Cyprus

Dayton Section Jt Chapter,SP01/EMB18/SMC28
Griffin Romigh, chair (gromigh@gmail.com)
Formed: 1997-01-01
New London CT USA

Delhi Section Chapter,IM09/EMB18
V R Singh, chair (vrsingh@ieee.org)
Formed: 2005-05-27
New Delhi India

Estonia Section Jt Chapter, IM09/ED15/EMB18
Jaan Hiie, chair (jaan.hiie@ttu.ee)
Formed: 2007-04-24
Tallinn Estonia

Gainesville Section Chapter,EMB18/COM19
Aysegul Gunduz, chair (agunduz@ufl.edu)
Formed: 2006-04-10
Gainesville FL USA

Germany/Austria/Switzerland, EMB18
Thomas Penzel, chair (thomas.penzel@charite.de)
Formed: 1991-03-21
Berlin Germany

Hungary Section Jt. Chapter, IM09/EMB18
Laszlo Sujbert, chair (sujbert@mit.bme.hu)
Formed: 1997-08-15
Budapest Hungary

Kingston Section Jt. Chapter, CS23/EMB18/RA24
Keyvan HashtrudiZaad, chair (khz@queensu.ca)
Formed: 2008-05-29
Kingston ON Canada

Morelos/Mexico Section Chapter, EMB18
R Leder, chair (rleder@ieee.org)
Formed: 1992-03-24
Mexico Mexico

New Brunswick Section Jt. Chapter, SP01/EMB18
Erik Scheme, chair (escheme@unb.ca)
Formed: 2016-04-06
Fredericton NB Canada

Quebec Section Jt. Chapter, EMB18/CAS04
Benoit Gosselin, chair (benoit.gosselin@gel.ulaval.ca)
Formed: 2014-05-27
Quebec QC Canada

Quebec Section Jt. Chapter, EMB18/CAS04
Benoit Gosselin, chair (benoit.gosselin@gel.ulaval.ca)
Formed: 2014-05-27
Quebec QC Canada

Republic Of Macedonia Section Chap,SP01/EMB18
Tomislav Kartalov, chair (kartalov@feit.ukim.edu.mk)
Formed: 2005-05-27
Skopje Macedonia

Richmond Section Jt. Chapter, MAG33/EMB18
Magundappa Hadimani, chair (rhadimani@vcu.edu)
Formed: 2016-02-29
Richmond VA USA

Saint Louis Section Chapter, EMB18/MTT17/PHO36
Satya Mishra, chair (satya@grokcircuits.com)
Formed:
Saint Louis MO USA

South Brazil Section Jt. Chapter,EMB18/CS23
Renato Garcia, chair (renato.garcia@ieee.org)
Formed: 1989-03-15
Florianopolis Brazil

Uruguay Section Chapter,EMB18/CS23/SSC37
Enrique Ferreira, chair (e.d.ferreira@ieee.org)
Formed: 2005-05-26
Montevideo Uruguay

Login

New Here? Sign Up

Looking for increased exposure in the field of biomedical engineering? EMBS offers journals, conferences and a community for biomedical engineers. Membership includes PULSE Magazine.

Join EMBS