2022 EMBS Fellows

IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation.

Please join us in congratulating the newly elevated IEEE Fellows for the Class of 2022! We are especially proud of the Fellows selected from among our EMBS membership, including:

Tommaso Isernia, Università Mediterranea di Reggio Calabria
for contributions on antennas synthesis and inverse scattering problems

Ki Chon, University of Connecticut
for the development of novel algorithms to detect atrial fibrillation from smart wearable devices

Todd Coleman, University of California San Diego
for contributions to biomedical signal processing and leadership in neuro-engineering

Sorin Draghici, Wayne State University
for contributions to the analysis of high-throughput genomics and proteomics data

Silvestro Micera, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)
for contributions to restoration of human sensorimotor functions using engineered neuroprostheses

Nassir Navab, Technische Universität Munchen
for contributions to augmented reality in medicine and computerassisted interventions

Krishna Nayak, University of Southern California
for contributions to real-time magnetic resonance imaging of the human heart and vocal tract airway

Thomas Penzel, Charité–Universitätsmedizin Berlin
for contributions to biosignal analysis for sleep medicine

Daniel Razansky, University of Zurich and ETH Zürich
for contributions to multispectral optoacoustic tomography

Florian Solzbacher, University of Utah
for the development of tools enabling applied and translational neuroscience and neural engineering

Thomas Stieglitz, University of Freiburg
for contributions to flexible micromachined neural interfaces and microimplants

Dongmei Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology
for contributions to biomedical informatics and AI

Alessandra Costanzo, University of Bologna
for contributions to nonlinear electromagnetic co-design of RF and microwave circuits

Pietro Valdastri, University of Leeds
for contributions to medical capsule robots

Steven Simske, Colorado State University
for contributions to anti-counterfeiting and cyber-physical security

Yefeng Zheng, Tencent Jarvis Lab
for contributions to machine learning for medical imaging

Elisa Konofagou, Columbia University
for contributions to ultrasound for cardiovascular and cancer diagnosis, neuromodulation and brain drug delivery

Jin-woo Kim, University of Arkansas
for contributions to nanoscale fabrication of bio/nano-hybrid materials

Euisik Yoon, University of Michigan
for contributions to bio-microelectromechanical systems (BioMEMS) technologies for opto-electrical neural interfaces and microfluidic biochips