IEEE EMBS presents

Upcoming Webinars

Don’t miss these upcoming webinars organized by the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology (EMB) Society Technical Committee!

Trustworthy AI for Imaging-Based Diagnoses

9 June 2021 | 10:00 AM EST (US and Canada)

9:00 AM Central Daylight Time (Chicago, GMT-05:00) 10:00 PM China Time (Beijing, GMT+08:00) 4:00 PM Europe Summer Time (Amsterdam, GMT+02:00)

This talk will focus on failures of deep learning / AI algorithms and propose several approaches to increase robustness of AI powered medical imaging systems.

Roadmaps to such trustworthy systems will be analyzed including algorithmic robustness, interpretable / explainable machine learning systems and human in the loop machine learning system.

Ulas Bagci, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Northwestern University, Radiology and Biomedical Engineering Department at Chicago, Courtesy Professor, Center for Research in Computer Vision (CRCV), Department of Computer Science, University of Central Florida (UCF)

Towards More Reliable and Smarter Implantable Devices Using Microtechnology

16 July 2021 | 10:00 AM EST (US and Canada)

This talk will discuss our latest efforts to utilize nano and microscale transducers to fabricate self-clearing implantable medical devices including sensors and actuators. We utilize both passive and active anti-biofouling approaches to improve the reliability and functionality of these implantable devices.

As a proof-of-concept, the efforts to create chronically implantable self-clearing catheters, electrochemical biosensor arrays, and high-performance neurostimulation interfaces will be shared.

Organized by the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology (EMB) Society Technical Committee on Bionanotechnology and BioMEMS

Hyowon “Hugh” Lee
Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering Purdue University