Dr. Bin He

Dr. Bin He
Carnegie Mellon University


Bin He is a Trustee Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Professor of Neuroscience, and by courtesy Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, PA, USA. He served as head of Department of Biomedical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University and brought the graduate ranking from the 26th to 17th based on the US News & World Report. Before joining Carnegie Mellon, Dr. He was Distinguished McKnight University Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Medtronic-Bakken Endowed Chair for Engineering in Medicine, director of Institute for Engineering in Medicine, and founding director of Center for Neuroengineering at the University of Minnesota.

Dr. He has made significant research contributions to neuroengineering, biomedical imaging, and medical devices, particularly in areas of electrophysiological source imaging, brain-computer interface, focused ultrasound neuromodulation, and magnetoacoustic imaging. His research has been documented in over 300 peer-reviewed articles in international journals including PNAS, Science Robotics, Nature Communications, Advanced Science, Proceedings of the IEEE, and Neuron.

Recognizing his contributions, Dr. He is the recipient of many awards including the IEEE Biomedical Engineering Award, the IEEE EMBS William J. Morlock Award, the IEEE EMBS Academic Career Achievements Award, and IEEE EMBS Distinguished Service Award. He served as president of the IEEE EMBS from 2009-2010, editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering from 2013-2018 during which the journal’s impact factor was doubled, chair of the International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering from 2018-2021, and member of NIH BRAIN Initiative Multi-Council Working Group from 2014-2019. He is an elected Fellow of International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering, IEEE, American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, and Biomedical Engineering Society. Dr. He holds 10 US patents and has been elected to the National Academy of Inventors.