IEEE PULSE presents


Mission Statement

The Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) of the IEEE advances the application of engineering sciences and technology to medicine and biology, promotes the profession, and provides global leadership for the benefit of its members and humanity by disseminating knowledge, setting standards, fostering professional development, and recognizing excellence.

Magazine Information

Indexed In

Current Contents (Clinical Practice), Engineering Index (Bioengineering Abstracts), InspecExcerpta Medica, Index Medicus, MEDLINE, RECAL Information Services, and listed in Citation Index.


All materials in this publication represent the views of the authors only and not those of the EMBS or IEEE.

IEEE Pulse Staff


Ahmed Morsy
Cairo University, Cairo, Egypt

Associate Editor

Cynthia Weber

Editorial Board

Atam Dhawan
New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
Esmaiel Jabbari
University of South Carolina, USA
Alicia Casals
Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Punit Prakash
Kansas State University, USA
Silvestro Micera
Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Carmen Poon
The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
Ahmet Erdemir
Cleveland Clinic, USA
Thomas Penzel
Charite University Hospital, Germany
Laura Astolfi
Sapienza University, Italy
Marius-George Linguraru
Children’s National Medical Center, USA
Steven Wong
Houston Methodist Research Institute, USA
Md. Shoaib Bhuiyan
Suzuka University of Medical Science, Japan
Debdoot Sheet
Indian Institute of Technology, India
Andrew Taberner
University of Auckland, New Zealand
Shanbao Tong
Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

Contributing Editors

Book Reviews
Paul King
Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Max Valentinuzzi
Universidad Nacional de Tucumán and Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Design
Jay R. Goldberg
Marquette University, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
State of the Art
Arthur T. Johnson
University of Maryland, USA