IEEE EMBS presents

EMBS Roster

2021 EMBS ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE

(Term expires December 31 of year indicated)
Executive Committee – Voting Members

MetinAkay
EMBS President ’22

University of Houston
makay@uh.edu


James Weiland
V.P Conferences ’22

University of Michigan
weiland@med.umich.edu


Amir Amini
V.P. Publications ’21

University of Louisville
amir.amini@louisville.edu


NitishThakor
V.P. Elect Publications ’21

National University of Singapore
thakorjhu@gmail.com
*non-voting, ex-officio

Shankar Subramaniam
Past-President ’21

University of California, San Diego
shankar@ucsd.edu


Bruce Wheeler
V.P. Finances ’21

University of California, San Diego
VPFinance@embs.org


Bruce Hecht
V.P. Elect Finance ’21

VG2PLAY
bruce.hecht@ieee.org
*non-voting, ex-officio

Laura J. Wolf*
Society Executive Director
IEEE EMBS

emb-exec@ieee.org
*non-voting, ex-officio


Carolyn McGregorAM
V.P. Member and Students ’22

Ontario Tech University
Carolyn.mcgregor@ontariotechu.ca


Colin J.H Brenan
V.P. Technical Activities ’21

1CELLBIO INC.
cbrenan2@gmail.com


Ellis Meng
V.P. Elect Technical Activities ’21

University of Southern California
ellis.meng@usc.edu
*non-voting, ex-officio

Administrative Committee – Voting Members

North America

Cyhthia Chestek ‘21
University of Michigan
cchestek@umich.edu

Latin America

Roberto Lavarello ’22
University of Concepcion, Chile
estebanpino@udec.cl

Europe

Arrate Muñoz Barrutia ‘21
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
mamunozb@ing.uc3m.es

Asia Pacific

Rosa Chan ‘23
City University of Hong Kong
rosachan@cityu.edu

Middle East & Africa

Mohamed Khalil ‘22
Lebanese University
mohamad.khalil@ul.edu.lb

Technical Representatives

Beena Ahmed ‘23
University of New South Wales beena.ahmed@unsw.edu.au


Erika Ross ‘21
Abbott
erika.ross@abbott.com


Thomas Penzel ‘21
Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin
thomas.penzel@charite.de


Carlotta Guiducci ‘22
Ecole Polytechnique
Fédérale de Lausanne carlotta.guiducci@epfl.ch


Julia Schnabel ‘22
King’s College
julia.schnabel@kcl.ac.uk

Practitioner Representatives

Qi Duan ‘21
National Institute of Health
qi.duan@nih.gov


Luis Kun’22
National Defense University
Hcii@aol.com


Ed H. Livingston ‘22
JAMA
edward.livingston@jamanetwork.org


Peter L.Elkin ‘22
University of Buffalo
elkinp@buffalo.edu


Nancey Trevanian Tsai ‘22
Medical University of South Carolina
nttsai@hotmail.com

Student Representative

JingzhiAn ‘22
Harvard-MIT Division of
Health Science and Technology
Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School
jingzhi.an@gmail.com

Young Professional Representative

Marianna Laviola ’22
University of Nottingham
marianna.laviola@nottingham.ac.uk

Administrative Committee – Non-Voting Members (Editors)

IEEE PULSE
Cynthia Weber

clweberb@mtu.edu


Reviews in Biomedical Engineering
Yuan Ting Zhang ‘22
ytzhang@ee.cuhk.edu.hk

Transactions on Biomedical Engineering
Xiaochuan Pan ‘21
xpan@uchicago.edu


EMBS Book Series
Bruce Hecht
bruce.hecht@ieee.org

Transactions on Neural Systems & Rehabilitation Engineering
Dan Ferris ‘21

editortnsre@gmail.com


Journal of Translational
Engineering in Health and Medicine

Pamela Bhatti ‘21
pamela.bhatti@ece.gatech.edu

Open Journal of Engineering in
Medicine and Biology
Paolo Bonato‘22

PBONATO@mgh.harvard.edu


EMBC Conference Chairs
EMBC’21 Guadalajara- Emilio Sacristan
EMBC’22Glasgow- Christopher James