IEEE EMBS presents

Congratulations to the 2021 EMBS Award Recipients

Academic Career Achievement Award

Ge Wang (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

“For pioneering contributions on cone-beam tomography, interior tomography, and deep learning-based tomographic imaging.” 

Early Career Achievement Award

Cesar de la Fuente (University of Pennsylvania)

“For the pioneering development of novel antibiotics designed using principles from computation, engineering, and biology.”

Distinguished Service Award

Ernesto Antonio Ibarra Ramirez (Universidad Latina de Panama)

“For continued service strengthening the society in Latin America, and creating and consolidating the IEEE EMBS community in Panama.”

Professional Achievement Award

Joseph Bronzino (Trinity College)

“For his contributions in being an educator, author, mentor, and leader in the field of biomedical engineering.”

William J Morlock Award

Atam Dhawan (New Jersey Institute of Technology)

“For pioneering development and translation of low-angle transillumination imaging devices for healthcare applications and leadership in point-of-care technologies.”

Technical Achievement Award

Alejandro Frangi (University of Leeds / KU Leuven)

“For pioneering contributions in model-based image computing and image-based computational modeling in medicine with clinical and innovation impact”.

Technical Achievement Award

Silvestro Micera (Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna / Ecole polytechnique federale de Lausanne)

“For his contribution to the development of new implantable neuroprostheses to restore sensory and motor function in disabled people.”