2024 EMBS Fellows

IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation.

Please join us in congratulating the newly elevated IEEE Fellows for the Class of 2024! We are especially proud of the Fellows selected from among our EMBS membership, including:

Klaus Mueller
New York, NY USA
for contributions to image reconstruction and visualization

Daniel Alexander
University College London, London UK
for contributions to medical imaging and analysis

Mark Anastasio
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champiagne, Urbana, IL, USA
for fundamental contributions to advanced computed imaging

Sameer Antani
Montgomery Village, MD USA
for contributions to medical imaging research in high-morbidity disease screening

Mathias Baumert
The University of Adelaide, Adelaide South Australia
for contributions to biomedical signal processing and clinical applications

Kevin Englehart
University of New Brunswick, Fredericton NB Canada
for contributions to myoelectric signal processing in rehabilitation engineering

Jason Heikenfeld
University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH, USA
for leadership in electrofluidic and biosensing devices

Chulhong Kim
POSTECH, Convergence IT Engineering, Pohang Gyeongsangbuk-do Republic of Korea
for contribution to photoacoustic imaging and its clinical applications

Milosradomir Popovic
KITE – Toronto Rehabilitation Institute, Toronto ON Canada
for contributions to novel electrical stimulation approaches and devices in biomedical engineering

Maryam Shanechi
Los Angeles, CA USA
for contributions to brain-machine interfaces

Shankar Subramaniam
University of California, San Diego – LaJolla, CA USA
for contributions to biomedical science and engineering

Georgia Tourassi
Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN USA
for contributions to artificial intelligence and high performance computing in medicine

Changzhi Li
Lubbock, TX USA
for contributions to portable microwave radar sensor technologies

Danail Stoyanov
University College of London, London, United Kingdom
for contributions to intelligent computer-assisted surgical and diagnostical systems

Leslie Collins
Duke University ECE Dept, Durham, NC USA
for contributions to signal processing algorithms for auditory applications and to buried threat detection

Arrate Munoz-Barrutia
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Leganes Madrid Spain
for contributions to biomedical image processing

Hengyong Yu
University of Massachusetts Lowell, Westford, MA USA
for contribution to tomographic image reconstruction

Seonghwan Cho
KAIST, Daejeon, Republic of Korea
for contributions to time-domain circuits and applications

Alfred Yu
University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON Canada
for contributions to ultrasound imaging technology and therapy

John Yeow
University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON Canada
for contributions to the understanding and applications of nanostructures and nanocomposites

Omer Inan
Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA USA
for contributions to wearable systems for health sensing

Michael Mcshane
Texas A&M University, College Station, TX USA
for contributions to biomaterials-based optical biosensors