EMBS Officers

Terms expire December 31st of year indicated.

Society Officers

Executive Committee (ExCom) Voting Members

Nigel Lovell
EMBS President ’18
Scientia Professor at the Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering
University of New South Wales, Australia
Shankar Subramaniam
EMBS President-Elect ’18

University of California, San Diego
May Wang
VP, Finances ’20

Professor, Kavli Fellow, GRA Distinguished Cancer Scholar, Fellow of AIMBE Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory University
Steven Wright
VP, Member & Student Activities ’21

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Bioengineering and Radiology
Texas A&M
Jim Patton
VP, Conferences ’21

University of Illinois at Chicago, and Shirley Ryan AbilityLab
Robert Butera
VP, Publications ’20

Professor and Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
Elsa Angelini
VP, Technical Activities ’20

Imperial College, London

Administrative Committee (AdCom) Voting Members


Rosa Chan ’20
Associate Professor
Department of Electronic Engineering, City University of Hong Kong


Christopher James ’18
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
University of Warwick

Middle East/Africa

Mohamed KhalilMohamed Khalil ’19
Professor, Faculty of Engineering
Lebanese University

Latin America

Robert LavarelloRobert Lavarello ’19
Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú

North America

Amir Amini ’18
Professor and Endowed Chair in Bioimaging; Director of MIL
University of Louisville

Student Representative

ahmed-metwallyAhmed Abdelhadi Metwally ’18
University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

Young Professional Representative

Laura Astolfi, Ph.D.Laura Astolfi, Young Professional Representative, ’19
Sapienza University of Rome

Technical Representatives

Michelle KhineMichelle Khine ’20
University of California, Irvine
Dominique Durand ’18
Case Western University
Fabio Babiloni ’18
Professor of Physiology and Biomedical, Department of Molecular Medicine
University of Rome Sapienza
Konstantina NikitaKonstantina S. Nikita ’19
School of Electrical and Computer
Engineering, NTUA, Greece
Julia SchnabelJulia Schnabel ’19
King’s College London, United Kingdom

Practitioner Representatives

Masaru Sugimachi ’18
Project Leader of Nano-Medicine, Department of Cardiovascular Dynamics, Advanced Medical Engineering Center
National Cardiovascular Center Research Institute
Howard LevinHoward Levin ’19
Coridea Inc.
Ed H. LivingstonEd H. Livingston ’19
Bruce HechtBruce Hecht ’19
Analog Devices
Steven SchacterSteven Schacter ’19
Consortia for Improving Medicine with
Innovation & Technology (CIMIT)



Colin Brenan, Editor in Chief, IEEE PULSE ’19
Chief Technology Officer and Head of Business Development, HiFiBiO BV

Bin He, Editor in Chief, IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering ’18
Department Head of Biomedical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University

Dan Ferris, Editor in Chief, IEEE Transactions on Neural Systems and Rehabilitation Engineering ’21
Professor of Engineering Innovation and Senior Associate Chair in the J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Florida

Dimitrios Fotiadis, Editor in Chief, IEEE Journal of Biomedical Health Informatics ’19
Professor of Biomedical Engineering Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering Director, Unit of Medical Technology and Intelligent Information Systems, University of Ioannina / FORTH

Y.T. Zhang, Editor in Chief, IEEE Reviews in Biomedical Engineering ’19

Metin Akay, Editor in Chief, EMBS Book Series
Chair of Biomedical Engineering Department, University of Houston

Atam Dhawan, Editor in Chief, IEEE Journal of Translational Engineering in Health and Medicine ’18
Vice Provost for Research and Development, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Conference Chairs


James Weiland, EMBC’18

About EMBS Elections

EMBS elections are held every year in May, with nominations due in February.

How to become an EMB AdCom Candidate

AdCom members are elected for staggered three-year terms by all regular and affiliate EMBS members. If you are interested in becoming an AdCom candidate, please submit your nomination HERE.

How AdCom Members are Elected

The 17 regular, elected members of AdCom will be selected from the EMBS membership from:

5 Geographical Zones:

  • NA: North America (Reg 1-7) – 1 representative
  • LA: Latin America (Reg 9) – 1 representative
  • EU: Europe (per World Health Org) – 1 representative
  • MEA: Middle East & Africa – 1 representative
  • AP: Asia-Pacific (Reg 10) – 1 representative

Technical Representatives – 5

Practitioner Representatives – 5

Student Representative (R1-10) – 1

Young Professionals Representative (R1-10) – 1

Responsibilities of the AdCom

According to the Bylaws, 3.4 Responsibilities of the Administrative Committee

AdCom members are expected to

  • Attend AdCom Meetings, twice per year (Winter/Fall)
  • Participate in committee activities
  • Submit reports to the archives for committees that they chair and/or submit reports as delegates or representatives of EMBS.
  • Address the needs of EMBS members in their geographical regions and maintain contact with local Chapters.
  • Be responsible for the financial stability and longevity of the Society in all areas of interest (including conferences, publications, finances, and member and student activities),
  • Strategically guide the Society regarding new products and benefits, and participate fully in discussions and voting on all related issues.

EMBS provides travel funding for AdCom members to attend scheduled meetings.

Every Vote Counts!

As long as your dues are paid in full by 28 February, you will be notified electronically about voting procedures for elections in your area. Please advise the Executive Office if you prefer a paper ballot. Voting typically ends the first week of May and results are generally announced by May 30. Student members may only vote for a Student Representative.


New Here? Sign Up

Looking for increased exposure in the field of biomedical engineering? EMBS offers journals, conferences and a community for biomedical engineers. Membership includes PULSE Magazine.