2014 Awards Recipients

The EMBS Awards Committee Announces the EMBS Awards for 2014.

Academic Career Achievement Award


Max A. Viergever
University Medical Center Utrecht
For pioneering and outstanding academic leadership in medical imaging research and education.

Distinguished Service Award


Bin He
University of Minnesota
For outstanding service to EMBS.

Technical Achievement Award


Brian T. Cunningham
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
For development and commercialization of optics-based biosensors and detection instruments for applications in drug discovery, diagnostics, environmental monitoring, and life science research.

Technical Achievement Award


Zhi-Pei Liang
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
For fundamental and pioneering contributions to the theory, algorithms, and biomedical applications of model-based magnetic resonance imaging.

Early Career Achievement Award


Qi Wang
Columbia University
For his contribution to neural engineering and biomedical instrumentation, including measuring biomechanical properties of skin and tissue, building a tactile display for a virtual Braille system, and discovery of a neural basis for sensory adaptation in behavior.

Best New Student Branch Chapter or Club

Outstanding Student Branch Chapter or Club
Vellore Institute of Technology Chile

Outstanding Chapter Award


New Here? Sign Up

Looking for increased exposure in the field of biomedical engineering? EMBS offers journals, conferences and a community for biomedical engineers. Membership includes PULSE Magazine.